Nestler Lab

Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry

Research

Eric NestlerThe goal of our research is to better understand the molecular mechanisms of addiction and depression. We use animal models of these disorders to identify the ways in which long-term exposure to drugs of abuse or stress changes the brain to lead to addiction- or depression-like syndromes. A major focus of our work is on drug- and stress-induced changes in gene expression and chromatin structure within the brain’s reward circuitry, and the mechanisms by which those lasting adaptations alter neuronal and circuit function to produce behavioral abnormalities.

Contact Us

Nestler Laboratory
Eric Nestler, MD, PhD
Nash Family Professor of Neuroscience
Director, The Friedman Brain Institute
Dean for Academic and Scientific Affairs

Location
Lab: ICAHN 10-26
Office: ICAHN 10-23a
Phone
Office: 212.659.5996
Lab: 212.659.5938
Lab fax: 212.659.1559
Admin Fax: 212.659.8510
Email

Featured

Stress resilience is promoted by a Zfp189-driven transcriptional network in prefrontal cortex

Understanding the transcriptional changes that are engaged in stress resilience may reveal novel antidepressant targets. Here we use gene co-expression analysis of RNA-sequencing data from brains of resilient mice to identify a gene network that is unique to resilience. Zfp189, which encodes a previously unstudied zinc finger protein, is the highest-ranked key driver gene in the network, and overexpression of Zfp189 in prefrontal cortical neurons preferentially activates this network and promotes behavioral resilience.

Nature

Synaptic microtubule-associated protein EB3 and SRC phosphorylation mediate structural and behavioral adaptations during withdrawal from cocaine self-administration

Erin S. Calipari, Arthur Godino, Marine Salery, Diane M. Damez-Werno, Michael E. Cahill, Craig T. Werner, Amy M. Gancarz, Emily G. Peck, Zahra Jlayer, Jacqui Rabkin, Joseph A. Landry, Alexander C.W. Smith, Paola Defilippi, Paul J. Kenny, Yasmin L. Hurd, Rachael L. Neve, David M. Dietz and Eric J. Nestler

Long-Term Behavioral Effects of Post-weaning Social Isolation in Males and Females

Deena M. Walker, Ashley M. Cunningham, Jill K. Gregory and Eric J. Nestler
Department of Neuroscience and Friedman Brain Institute, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, NY, United StatesAcademic IT: Instructional Technology Group, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, NY, United States

 

Fosb Induction in Nucleus Accumbens by Cocaine Is Regulated by E2F3a

Hannah M. Cates, Casey K. Lardner, Rosemary C. Bagot, Rachael L. Neve and Eric J. Nestler

Meet the Team

Ezekiell Mouzon

Ezekiell Mouzon

Research Laboratory Manager

ezekiell.mouzon@mssm.edu

Casey Lardner

Casey Lardner

Student

casey.lardner@icahn.mssm.edu

Orna Issler

Orna Issler

Postdoctoral Fellow

orna.issler@mssm.edu

Arthur Godino

Arthur Godino

Student

arthur.godino@icahn.mssm.edu

Angélica Torres Berrío

Angélica Torres Berrío

Postdoctoral Fellow

angelica.torresberrio@mssm.edu

Peter Hamilton

Peter Hamilton

Postdoctoral Fellow

peter.hamilton@mssm.edu

 Stephen Pirpinias

Stephen Pirpinias

Associate Researcher

stephen.pirpinias@mssm.edu

Vena Persaud

Vena Persaud

Executive Assistant

venamatie.persaud@mssm.edu

Philipp Mews

Philipp Mews

Postdoctoral Fellow

philipp.mews@mssm.edu

Yentl Van der zee

Yentl Van der zee

Visiting PhD student

yentl.vanderzee1@mssm.edu

Hope Kronman

Hope Kronman

Student

hope.kronman@icahn.mssm.edu

Deena Walker

Deena Walker

Postdoctoral Fellow

deena.walker@mssm.edu

Marine Salery

Marine Salery

Postdoctoral Fellow

marine.salery@mssm.edu

Eric Parise

Eric Parise

Postdoctoral Fellow

eric.parise@mssm.edu

Peter Ortolani

Peter Ortolani

Financial Analyst II

peter.ortolani@mssm.edu

Freddyson Martinez-rivera

Freddyson Martinez-rivera

Postdoctoral Fellow

freddyson.martinez-rivera@mssm.edu

Yun Young (Susan) Yim

Yun Young (Susan) Yim

Postdoctoral Fellow

Yunyoung.Yim@mssm.edu

Caleb Browne

Caleb Browne

Postdoctoral Fellow

caleb.browne@mssm.edu

ashley cunningham

ashley cunningham

Masters Candidate

ashley.cunningham@mssm.edu

Rita Futamura

Rita Futamura

Associate Researcher

rita.futamura@mssm.edu