Nestler Lab

Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry

Research

Eric NestlerThe goal of our research is to better understand the molecular mechanisms of addiction and depression. We use animal models of these disorders to identify the ways in which long-term exposure to drugs of abuse or stress changes the brain to lead to addiction- or depression-like syndromes. A major focus of our work is on drug- and stress-induced changes in gene expression and chromatin structure within the brain’s reward circuitry.

Our lab focuses on transcriptional and epigenetic mechanisms by which drugs of abuse and social stress induce lasting changes in the brain to underlie addiction and depression.

Contact Us

Nestler Laboratory
Eric Nestler, MD, PhD
Dean for Academic and Scientific Affairs, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Professor, Neuroscience
Professor, Psychiatry
Professor, Pharmacological Sciences
Location
Lab: ICAHN 10-26
Office: ICAHN 10-23a
Phone
Office: 212.659.5996
Lab: 212.659.5938
Lab fax: 212.659.1559
Admin Fax: 212.659.8510
Email

Meet the Team

Ezekiell Mouzon

Ezekiell Mouzon

Senior Research Coordinator

ezekiell.mouzon@mssm.edu

Catherine Peña

Catherine Peña

Postdoctoral Fellow

catherine.pena@mssm.edu

Olivier Berton

Olivier Berton

Assistant Professor

olivier.berton@mssm.edu

Casey Lardner

Casey Lardner

Student

casey.lardner@icahn.mssm.edu

Orna Issler

Orna Issler

Postdoctoral Fellow

orna.issler@mssm.edu

Arthur Godino

Arthur Godino

Title

Louisiana Ferreirade Meireles

Louisiana Ferreirade Meireles

Title

Peter Hamilton

Peter Hamilton

Postdoctoral Fellow

peter.hamilton@mssm.edu

 Stephen Pirpinias

Stephen Pirpinias

Associate Researcher

stephen.pirpinias@mssm.edu

Zach Lorsch

Zach Lorsch

Student

zachary.lorsch@mssm.edu

Ana Strat

Ana Strat

Associate Researcher

ana.strat@mssm.edu

Tingting Zhao

Tingting Zhao

Financial Anaylst

tingting.zhao@mssm.edu

Drew Kiraly

Drew Kiraly

Title

Philipp Mews

Philipp Mews

Postdoctoral Fellow

philipp.mews@mssm.edu

Erin Calipari

Erin Calipari

Postdoctoral Fellow

erin.calipari@mssm.edu

Hope Kronman

Hope Kronman

Student

hope.kronman@icahn.mssm.edu

Deena Walker

Deena Walker

Postdoctoral Fellow

deena.walker@mssm.edu

Efrain Ribeiro

Efrain Ribeiro

Student

efrain.ribeiro@mssm.edu

Vena Persaud

Vena Persaud

Executive Assistant

venamatie.persaud@mssm.edu

Marine Salery

Marine Salery

Title

Featured

Featured Publication

Bagot RC, Cates HM, Purushothaman I, Lorsch ZS, Walker DM, Wang J, Huang X, Schlüter OM, Maze I, Peña CJ, Heller EA, Issler O, Wang M, Song WM, Stein JL, Liu X, Doyle MA, Scobie KN, Sun HS, Neve RL, Geschwind D, Dong Y, Shen L, Zhang B, Nestler EJ. Circuit-wide Transcriptional Profiling Reveals Brain Region-Specific Gene Networks Regulating Depression Susceptibility. Neuron. 2016 Jun 1;90(5):969-83. doi: 10.1016/j.neuron.2016.04.015. Epub 2016 May 12.