Nestler Lab

Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry

Research

Eric NestlerThe goal of our research is to better understand the molecular mechanisms of addiction and depression. We use animal models of these disorders to identify the ways in which long-term exposure to drugs of abuse or stress changes the brain to lead to addiction- or depression-like syndromes. A major focus of our work is on drug- and stress-induced changes in gene expression and chromatin structure within the brain’s reward circuitry.

Our lab focuses on transcriptional and epigenetic mechanisms by which drugs of abuse and social stress induce lasting changes in the brain to underlie addiction and depression.

Contact Us

Nestler Laboratory
Eric Nestler, MD, PhD
Dean for Academic and Scientific Affairs, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Professor, Neuroscience
Professor, Psychiatry
Professor, Pharmacological Sciences
Location
Lab: ICAHN 10-26
Office: ICAHN 10-23a
Phone
Office: 212.659.5996
Lab: 212.659.5938
Lab fax: 212.659.1559
Admin Fax: 212.659.8510
Email

Featured

Early life stress confers lifelong stress susceptibility in mice via ventral tegmental area OTX2

Peña CJ, Kronman HG, Walker DM, Cates HM, Bagot RC, Purushothaman I, Issler O, Loh YE, Leong T, Kiraly DD, Goodman E, Neve RL, Shen L, Nestler EJ. Science. 2017 Jun 16;356(6343):1185-1188. doi: 10.1126/science.aan4491.

The linkage between stress early in life and behavioral depression in adulthood is complex. Peña et al. were able to define a time period in early development when mice are especially susceptible to stress.

Circuit-wide Transcriptional Profiling Reveals Brain Region-Specific Gene Networks Regulating Depression Susceptibility

Bagot RC, Cates HM, Purushothaman I, Lorsch ZS, Walker DM, Wang J, Huang X, Schlüter OM, Maze I, Peña CJ, Heller EA, Issler O, Wang M, Song WM, Stein JL, Liu X, Doyle MA, Scobie KN, Sun HS, Neve RL, Geschwind D, Dong Y, Shen L, Zhang B, Nestler EJ. Neuron. 2016 Jun 1;90(5):969-83. doi: 10.1016/j.neuron.2016.04.015. Epub 2016 May 12.

Meet the Team

Ezekiell Mouzon

Ezekiell Mouzon

Research Laboratory Manager

ezekiell.mouzon@mssm.edu

Catherine Peña

Catherine Peña

Postdoctoral Fellow

catherine.pena@mssm.edu

Casey Lardner

Casey Lardner

Student

casey.lardner@icahn.mssm.edu

Orna Issler

Orna Issler

Postdoctoral Fellow

orna.issler@mssm.edu

Arthur Godino

Arthur Godino

Student

Louisiana Ferreirade Meireles

Louisiana Ferreirade Meireles

Visiting Scientist

Nicholas Mervosh

Nicholas Mervosh

Associate Researcher

nicholas.mervosh@mssm.edu

Peter Hamilton

Peter Hamilton

Postdoctoral Fellow

peter.hamilton@mssm.edu

 Stephen Pirpinias

Stephen Pirpinias

Associate Researcher

stephen.pirpinias@mssm.edu

Zach Lorsch

Zach Lorsch

Student

zachary.lorsch@mssm.edu

Ana Strat

Ana Strat

Associate Researcher

ana.strat@mssm.edu

Philipp Mews

Philipp Mews

Postdoctoral Fellow

philipp.mews@mssm.edu

Emily Peck

Emily Peck

Associate Researcher

emily.peck@mssm.edu

Tingting Zhao

Tingting Zhao

Financial Anaylst

tingting.zhao@mssm.edu

Erin Calipari

Erin Calipari

Instructor

erin.calipari@mssm.edu

Hope Kronman

Hope Kronman

Student

hope.kronman@icahn.mssm.edu

Deena Walker

Deena Walker

Postdoctoral Fellow

deena.walker@mssm.edu

Efrain Ribeiro

Efrain Ribeiro

Student

efrain.ribeiro@mssm.edu

Marine Salery

Marine Salery

Postdoctoral Fellow

Eric Parise

Eric Parise

Postdoctoral Fellow

eric.parise@mssm.edu

Vena Persaud

Vena Persaud

Executive Assistant

venamatie.persaud@mssm.edu