Nestler Lab

Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry

Research

Eric NestlerThe goal of our research is to better understand the molecular mechanisms of addiction and depression. We use animal models of these disorders to identify the ways in which long-term exposure to drugs of abuse or stress changes the brain to lead to addiction- or depression-like syndromes. A major focus of our work is on drug- and stress-induced changes in gene expression and chromatin structure within the brain’s reward circuitry, and the mechanisms by which those lasting adaptations alter neuronal and circuit function to produce behavioral abnormalities.

Contact Us

Nestler Laboratory
Eric Nestler, MD, PhD
Nash Family Professor of Neuroscience
Director, The Friedman Brain Institute
Dean for Academic and Scientific Affairs

Location
Lab: ICAHN 10-26
Office: ICAHN 10-23a
Phone
Office: 212.659.5996
Lab: 212.659.5938
Lab fax: 212.659.1559
Admin Fax: 212.659.8510
Email

Featured

Alcohol metabolism contributes to brain histone acetylation.

Mews P, Egervari G, Nativio R, Sidoli S, Donahue G, Lombroso SI, Alexander DC, Riesche SL, Heller EA, Nestler EJ, Garcia BA, Berger SL.
Nature. 2019 Oct 23. doi: 10.1038/s41586-019-1700-7. [Epub ahead of print]

Paternal transgenerational epigenetic mechanisms mediating stress phenotypes of offspring.

Cunningham AM, Walker DM, Nestler EJ.
Eur J Neurosci. 2019 Sep 23. doi: 10.1111/ejn.14582. [Epub ahead of print] Review.

Epigenetic Mechanisms of Opioid Addiction.

Browne CJ, Godino A, Salery M, Nestler EJ.
Biol Psychiatry. 2019 Jul 8. pii: S0006-3223(19)31510-0. doi: 10.1016/j.biopsych.2019.06.027. [Epub ahead of print] Review.

Stress resilience is promoted by a Zfp189-driven transcriptional network in prefrontal cortex

Understanding the transcriptional changes that are engaged in stress resilience may reveal novel antidepressant targets. Here we use gene co-expression analysis of RNA-sequencing data from brains of resilient mice to identify a gene network that is unique to resilience. Zfp189, which encodes a previously unstudied zinc finger protein, is the highest-ranked key driver gene in the network, and overexpression of Zfp189 in prefrontal cortical neurons preferentially activates this network and promotes behavioral resilience.

Nature

Role of Mesolimbic Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor in Depression.

Koo JW, Chaudhury D, Han MH, Nestler EJ.
Biol Psychiatry. 2019 Nov 15;86(10):738-748. doi: 10.1016/j.biopsych.2019.05.020. Epub 2019 Jun 4. Review.

Epigenetics and addiction.

Hamilton PJ, Nestler EJ.
Curr Opin Neurobiol. 2019 Jun 27;59:128-136. doi: 10.1016/j.conb.2019.05.005. [Epub ahead of print] Review.

Read more

Personal reflections on a mentor extraordinaire: Paul Greengard, Ph.D. (1925-2019).

Nestler EJ.
Neuropsychopharmacology. 2019 Sep;44(10):1837-1838. doi: 10.1038/s41386-019-0433-5. Epub 2019 Jun 13. No abstract available.

Read more

Biology and Bias in Cell Type-Specific RNAseq of Nucleus Accumbens Medium Spiny Neurons.

Kronman H, Richter F, Labonté B, Chandra R, Zhao S, Hoffman G, Lobo MK, Schadt EE, Nestler EJ.
Sci Rep. 2019 Jun 6;9(1):8350. doi: 10.1038/s41598-019-44798-9.

Read more

Synaptic Microtubule-Associated Protein EB3 and SRC Phosphorylation Mediate Structural and Behavioral Adaptations During Withdrawal From Cocaine Self-Administration.

Calipari ES, Godino A, Salery M, Damez-Werno DM, Cahill ME, Werner CT, Gancarz AM, Peck EG, Jlayer Z, Rabkin J, Landry JA, Smith ACW, Defilippi P, Kenny PJ, Hurd YL, Neve RL, Dietz DM, Nestler EJ.
J Neurosci. 2019 Jul 17;39(29):5634-5646. doi: 10.1523/JNEUROSCI.0024-19.2019. Epub 2019 May 15.

Read more

Meet the Team

Ezekiell Mouzon

Ezekiell Mouzon

Research Laboratory Manager

ezekiell.mouzon@mssm.edu

Casey Lardner

Casey Lardner

Student

casey.lardner@icahn.mssm.edu

Orna Issler

Orna Issler

Postdoctoral Fellow

orna.issler@mssm.edu

Arthur Godino

Arthur Godino

Student

arthur.godino@icahn.mssm.edu

Vena Persaud

Vena Persaud

Executive Assistant

venamatie.persaud@mssm.edu

Philipp Mews

Philipp Mews

Postdoctoral Fellow

philipp.mews@mssm.edu

Yentl Van der zee

Yentl Van der zee

Visiting PhD student

yentl.vanderzee1@mssm.edu

Angélica Torres Berrío

Angélica Torres Berrío

Postdoctoral Fellow

angelica.torresberrio@mssm.edu

Deena Walker

Deena Walker

Postdoctoral Fellow

deena.walker@mssm.edu

Marine Salery

Marine Salery

Postdoctoral Fellow

marine.salery@mssm.edu

Eric Parise

Eric Parise

Postdoctoral Fellow

eric.parise@mssm.edu

Peter Ortolani

Peter Ortolani

Financial Analyst II

peter.ortolani@mssm.edu

Freddyson Martinez-rivera

Freddyson Martinez-rivera

Postdoctoral Fellow

freddyson.martinez-rivera@mssm.edu

Yun Young (Susan) Yim

Yun Young (Susan) Yim

Postdoctoral Fellow

Yunyoung.Yim@mssm.edu

Caleb Browne

Caleb Browne

Postdoctoral Fellow

caleb.browne@mssm.edu

ashley cunningham

ashley cunningham

Masters Candidate

ashley.cunningham@icahn.mssm.edu

Collin Teague

Collin Teague

PhD Student

collin.teague@icahn.mssm.edu

Rita Futamura

Rita Futamura

Associate Researcher

rita.futamura@mssm.edu

Katherine Beach

Katherine Beach

Katherine.Beach@mssm.edu

Szu-ying Yeh

Szu-ying Yeh

Catherine Mcmanus

Catherine Mcmanus

catherine.mcmanus@mssm.edu

Jharrayne McKnight

Jharrayne McKnight

Jharrayne.McKnight@mssm.edu